Pike County

Pike County and Its Eleven Municipalities

Pike County, nestled in the northeast corner of Pennsylvania, borders on Sussex County, New Jersey, and Orange and Sullivan Counties in New York. It was named for Zebulon Montgomery Pike, a general killed in the War of 1812, who discovered Pike’s Peak.

At one time Pike County was a part of Bucks County, one of the original counties created by William Penn in 1682. Over the next 150 years Bucks County was broken down forming Northhampton in 1752. In 1978 Wayne County later separated from Northerhampton and on March 26, 1814, Pike separated from Wayne County. On April 1, 1836, a portion of Pike County was cut off to form part of Monroe County.

Today, Pike County includes Milford, Dingmans, Delaware, Lehman, Porter,  Palmyra, Greene, Blooming Grove, Westfall, Lackawaxen,  and Shohola Townships and the Boroughs of  the Milford and Matamoras, with Milford serving as the County Seat. In addition to this role, Milford is also a tourist destination known for its quaint town center, historic buildings and homes, art galleries and specialty stores.

See Below for Directory of All Pike County Officials including Tax collectors, Zoning officers, Building inspectors and more